The Breakdown: Assassin’s Creed 4 Black Flag Trailer

assassins-creed-4-black-flagIf you’re a gamer, there’s no way you made it through yesterday without ogling at the announcement trailer for the next Assassin’s Creed entry at least once.  So let’s break it down.

0:10 – Is Black Beard going to be one of this games mentors?  That could be interesting, and definitely can’t be any worse than the last Pirates of the Caribbean movie.

0:20 – Oh no, more boats.  I was excited to try out the new sea faring system in Assassin’s Creed 3, but the best part about it was that it was only required rarely (granted the completionist in me had to do all the naval missions anyway).  I really hope that this doesn’t become too prominent and washes away a large percentage of the gameplay that has made this series what it is.  Less steering, more shanking!

0:21 – He’s blonde!  It’s like they just went all Daniel Craig on us!  Then again, Daniel Craig was just the Bond we needed to keep that series going in its newest additions to the franchise.

0:27 – Setting mentioned as the West Indes, so we’re not getting too far from America.

0:39 – Good thing he’s double wielding all of his weapons and loading up on extras.  Can’t exactly just reach out over the ships ledge and grab your weapon off the sea floor if you just so happen to drop it while swinging to your enemy’s boat.  Plus this will help since we’re still in the shoot and load era of guns.  All I know is I am excited to see some dual wielded swords in combat!

0:59 – I loved the introduction of corner takedowns in Assassin’s Creed 3, as well as stringing redcoats up in trees, so it’s only natural to hope for even cooler power moves to take down foes.  If we can slam people’s faces into the ground by dropping backwards off of ledges then my day has been made!

1:09 – Oh God, Oh God… Please don’t tell me there’s a swimming element more extensive than the shallow surface swimming…  I can’t deal with any more games in which I have to worry about sharks!  Goodness knows I still haven’t recovered from Far Cry 3…  But with the likelihood of sunken ships littering the watery environments with their treasures still in their bowels there is a good chance that this could be a part of this game.

1:23 – According to the Assassin’s Creed wiki page, Edward Kenway is the grandfather of our last protagonist, Conner, which means that we are actually jumping back in time for once (yes this was probably mentioned in the last game, but my memory sucks… So shush).  So does this mean that ninjas and/or samurai are still a possibility!?  Let me live my dream!

1:37 – Looks like the weather system is still going strong, perfect to set the mood for shanking ridiculously dressed men in order to take their lady friends off their hands.

Maybe I’m alone in this, but with all of the threequels out there I had assumed that the Assassin’s Creed series was in the same boat, so you cannot imagine my relief to see that there may be more to Connor’s story yet.  Goodness I hated that ending…  Playing as a pirate fits with the characters we’ve had before, but considering pirates spent a lot of time at sea I don’t quite know how they’re going to keep working in excuses to dock and take out targets.  Unless most are other pirates, which would honestly suck considering my feelings on the naval gameplay.  Plus I really don’t want to get scurvy…

Leave a Reply

